Layne env: ypt-ketiv

by Jonathan D. Kriek, April 27, 2015

Roll Back File Lifecycle State in Autodesk Vault 2016

Back to Blog

vaultrollback

Back in January of this year I received an email from KETIV’s Mike Carlson (who was in the Vault 2016 Beta) saying:

“You can roll back a revision!”

We both got pretty excited to say the least and I immediately jumped in the beta to see it, but now I am pleased to confirm with the official release that Autodesk has indeed made it possible. By rolling back the lifecycle you effectively roll back the revision of the file as well – with a few rules of course.

A little background: In the Vault community this has been one of the most requested features over the years and one that I’ve personally supported. Having been a Vault administrator myself for many years I’ve run into this many times and even formed my own workarounds. The fact is many companies have to be able to roll back revisions or even cancel them.

Today we’ll look at how this is [finally] achieved in Vault 2016!

This is NEW in Autodesk Vault 2016

First let’s look at Autodesk’s FAQ on “Roll Back the Lifecycle State of a File”

When a file is rolled back, it:

  • Returns to the file version associated with the rolled-back state
  • Returns to the security, lifecycle definition, and revisions scheme associated with the rolled-back state
  • Retains any property definitions associated with the current version.
  • The current version of the file is deleted when the file is rolled back to a previous state

That last one is very important to note.

Rules for Rolling Back a File Lifecycle State

The lifecycle of a file can be rolled back if:

  • The file is currently checked in.
  • No parent versions consume the current child version
  • The previous lifecycle state has not been deleted.
  • The file is not in <null> definition.
  • There is no label on the current version of the file.
  • “Restrict File and Item Lifecycle State Changes to COs” option disabled

And finally you must be a Document Manager Level 2 or an Administrator to roll back a file’s lifecycle state.

Roll Back a File’s Lifecycle State

Now that we know what happens to a file and what the rules are let’s take a look at how to actually perform the action itself!

Rollback_fileview-1

  1. Select a file in the main view and select Actions > Roll Back Lifecycle State Change.

    rollback_action

    A dialog displays describing to which state the file will be rolled back.notice

  2. Click yes to complete the lifecycle state rollback.

afterrollback_fileview

Fantastic! Right?

Spread the word! I know all Vault administrators will be overjoyed when you tell them. I know I was!

Stay tuned for more new features in Vault 2016 as well as other Autodesk 2016 products.

-Kriek


Register for a 30-minute techcast focused on what’s new in Autodesk Vault 2016. 

Back to Blog

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More stories from KETIV

Blog

What you Need to Know About the Recent Microsoft Office Update Affecting AutoCAD Electrical

Update: Microsoft released an update that resolves this issue. Allow windows to install every and all necessary updates, reboot as needed. You may also need to delete your project database. Close AutoCAD Electrical The project databases can…

Read post
Blog

Windows 7 End of Life: What you need to know when using Autodesk software

As much as we all loved MS-DOS, Windows 95, XP, and more, all good things must eventually come to an end. If you haven’t already heard, January 14, 2020 marked the day in which Microsoft officially ended support for Windows 7. How does Windows 7…

Read post